Anticipating My Next 21K!

When I was doing my training sessions for the Condura Run held last March, I kept on asking myself why the **** I was engaging in this effort, apart from wanting to be part of the select few who will be dominating the Skyway. After going past 15K for the first time in my life, my legs were throbbing and my feet were in absolute pain! It was so bad that I couldn’t walk well after my first LSD (long slow distance). Yup, I was completely destroyed. Distance running, I thought, wasn’t really meant for me. The farthest I could go, I told myself, was a 5K and nothing above that. I even said that after March 22, I’ll never join another half-marathon in this lifetime.

Indeed, as the days passed and as I continued my training, I was proven wrong, yet again.

As I continued my training, only did I realize that my legs were slowly adapting to frequent running. Though I ran longer than would usually run – thanks to my first LSD – I ended up completing my rounds with a smile on my face, somehow. Of course, there would be the inevitable fact of legs and feet craving for rest. But nevertheless, it was a fulfilling feeling. The fact that you can push yourself to your limit does provide some exhilaration.

Without a doubt, I don’t regret joining the Condura Skyway run. It was very memorable, no matter how tiring it was. Heck, the same joy that Mount Pulag provided the first time I climbed it is EXACTLY the same joy I experienced (and currently experiencing) after completing my first 21K ever. As a result, I am now anticipating my next 21K race – yes, I have already made a decision. I’m running my second half-marathon this coming April 19 at Santa Rosa, Laguna!

Plus, rumor has it that there will be a finisher’s medal. =)

I’ll be training for it starting next week. Proposed regimen as follows:

WEEK 1, MARCH 29 – APRIL 4, 2009
March 30 (Mon) – 7.5K
March 31 (Tue) – 7.5K
April 1 (Wed) – 10K
April 3 (Fri) – 5K

WEEK 2, APRIL 5 – APRIL 11, 2009
I won’t be able to train, out-of-town trip with my family.

WEEK 3, APRIL 12 – APRIL 18, 2009
April 12 (Sun) – LSD @ the actual race route
April 14 (Tue) – 5K
April 15 (Wed) – 7.5K
April 17 (Fri) – 5K

2 responses

  1. You’re getting there… you’re getting to be addicted to running! More LSDs! 😉

    indeed, miss roselle, i am getting more addicted to running. 🙂
    thank you for dropping by and i hope to see you soon in future races! 🙂

    March 27, 2009 at 11:25 AM

  2. red

    wala na bro.. adik ka na din. 😀

    hehehe, so true, rod. soooooo true. 🙂

    March 27, 2009 at 1:21 PM

Leave a Reply

