My Next Project: Suunto t3c Running Pack

I already have the shoes, the running wear, and the hydration belt. Only one thing is missing from the collection – the Suunto t3c Running Pack.

Others have asked, why not opt for a Garmin Forerunner? Undoubtedly, that is a good product as well, given that I have seen many runners use it in road races. But upon gathering several second opinions (even a third and a fourth), Suunto became my brand of choice because of the one thing it doesn’t possess: GPS capabilities. According to reliable sources, engaging in a running session with so many tall buildings around you “disrupts” the pace calculator embedded in a watch powered by GPS. My primary running path is enclosed with a few tall buildings, and I feel that I won’t be able to tell my pace well. Then again, I could be wrong, but I just want to make sure.

I want to improve my pace more than anything else – as of the moment I am running between a 7:00 to 7:30 pace. Not bad, of course, but I want to improve it further. Hopefully I can bring it down to 6:30. And I’d want to know whether I’m going slow or fast, in real time. This is why the pedometer comes along with the running pack – it measures your pace more accurately. Just attach the pedometer to your shoe and you’re good to go. =)

In addition, it also comes with a HRM to inform you if you’re going beyond your target heart rate.

The running pack is relatively the same price as the Garmin Forerunner – around 15K locally. Not a bad deal at all. I have to save up for this one. =)

5 responses

  1. very nice !!!

    indeed! this is so nice that i can’t wait to get one 🙂

    April 3, 2009 at 10:48 AM

  2. Congratulations, nice running watch! Yes you’re right about the Garmin GPS not being accurate when used under tall buildings. During my Condura run in Buendia, I saw my real-time pace shoot up to 3min/km! But in the end the long run, the 21Km route registered as 20.99Kms, so my garmin was only 10meters off (well maybe the course could be off). The problems with GPS spikes underneath the tall buildings are actually intermittent, but say after 2KMs, the average pace and distance should be accurate.

    I think your footpod shouldn’t be called a pedometer because it has an accelerometer that measures the distance traveled, not count the number of your strides. I thin that should be very accurate, comparable to GPS. NIKE+ isn’t an accelerometer but a piezoelectric device that explains the distance and pace discrepancies.

    Another thing that I think what’s so nice about suunto is their training software is way better than Garmin’s. Garmin’s training software is too simple and I wish it had more features.

    hi natz,

    yes, my bad with the “pedometer”. i’m used to calling it as such for some reason. i think i should just stick with “footpod” instead, for clarity’s (not to mention simplicity’s) sake.

    and thanks for the info regarding suunto’s training software. can’t wait to check it out. 🙂

    April 3, 2009 at 12:51 PM

  3. hahaha… amazing… this is one of those things in my Wish List. I’m praying Santa will drop me a visit on my birthday and give this gift… the Suunto running watch… hhhm… I thought running isn’t an expensive type of sport but … 🙂

    apparently, it’s not much of a cheap sport, as many claim. =P but it’s alright! it’s all for the love of the game. di ba? =)

    April 3, 2009 at 3:29 PM

  4. I also considered Suunto. While I like the fact that the watch is waterproof, I am reservations about the footpod which needs calibration. I may be wrong, but if you are still trying to settle on your race pace, the footpod may need a frequent calibration. I ended buying the Garmin. Just my thoughts. There will be a waterproof Garmin by second quarter by the way.

    hi there rico! 🙂
    well, i guess each product has its own disadvantages…
    and thanks for the info regarding the waterproof garmin. 🙂

    April 3, 2009 at 6:17 PM

  5. Pingback: New (Running) Toys To Play With! « Drum and Run

Leave a Reply

