Sad News

In just a few weeks, I will be relocated to Cebu for a new work assignment. Yes, it’s a brand new opportunity to discover a new environment, to work with a new programming tool, to taste new delicacies that are not native to Manila, and to discover new running routes. Length of stay will vary from 4 to 6 months. It’s something to look forward to, right?

Only problem is, I’ll be far away from those I have known my whole life – friends, significant other, and all those who I run with. In addition, majority of the famed road races are here in Manila! I had plans to sign up for many of the runs come May, unfortunately, I have to put them on hold, even the Southern Race at the Alabang Town Center. This one is hanging in the balance. I’m not really sure if I’ll be able to run this one – but hopefully I would, as I’ve never got to run along the tree-laden roads of Ayala Alabang. As for the remaining runs in May, they’ll definitely have to be put on scrap, including the North Face 100, on which I was planning to do a 10K trail run. Great.

Nevertheless, I’ll still get the race number from Alabang. Heck, I registered for it anyway. This is also the reason why I filled up my April 18 and April 25 slots with races – as much as possible, while I’m still here in Manila, I’ll run as much as I can. The opportunity is there, I might as well take it. I just hope that there’s a running route in Cebu close to where I’ll live, or close to my workplace.

The only consolation for me when I get to Cebu is that I’ll be able to participate in the Milo Marathon on July 5, assuming that they have a 21K category. (I’ll be takbo.ph’s representative for the Milo Marathon in Cebu! Hahaha.) As for the other road races there, I’ll have to find them myself. Looks like one of my few missions during my stint there is to engage and be part of a running group similar to takbo.ph. I do hope I find one.

Sad news for me. I don’t want to go! =(

But, assuming that the project gets finished on time – I won’t count on this one – I might make it for the Subic International Marathon and do a 21K before the year ends – and I’ll be running with all of you again. That I am anticipating.

In any case, wish me luck in Cebu. I’ll see you guys when I get back. While I’m still here, let’s run together! And fellow forumers, we’re game for the videoke session/despedida on April 28. Hoping to see you all there! Let’s make my remaining days here a blast! =)

5 responses

  1. red

    *sniff* ayl mes u! adik!!! wehehehe

    ADIK!!! huhuhuhu 😦

    April 14, 2009 at 2:31 PM

  2. I know that there are group runs/races every month in Cebu sponsored by the doctors. Check out the Run for Sight website. http://www.runforsight.net

    Goodluck in Cebu. We can still run together virtually.

    Hi there Boss Jinoe,

    Thanks for this site. I checked it out a while ago and they do sponsor a lot of events! This is cool 🙂 Now there’s definitely no reason for me to stop 🙂

    April 14, 2009 at 8:09 PM

    • Jo Paiso

      Hi. It sounds like you need a little help. Cebu is an excellent place to run also

      Here is a safe 6k circuit when running in Cebu in the Ayala complex. Best done before 530AM

      http://www.mapmyrun.com/run/philippines/cebu-city/218123919277388745

      I was also able to plot a half marathon course utilizing the 2 bridges connecting Cebu City and Mactan. It starts and ends in front of Metro Mall, Ayala Center in Lahug. I advise you to start your run at 430AM

      Cebu 21K 2 bridges (the view of the Fernan bridge from the old bridge on the way back with the sun rising is spectacular)

      http://www.mapmyrun.com/view_route?r=664123941457266901

      Keep on running in Cebu bro

      Good luck

      Jose Martin S. Paiso, MD

      Hello there Doctor Jo,

      Thanks for these routes (and for suggestions on when to run them best). I hope to run with you soon. 🙂

      April 14, 2009 at 9:23 PM

  3. jazzrunner

    Good luck on your Cebu trip, Carlo. Check out all running routes and trails and keep us updated through your blog.:-)

    regards…

    Hi there Sir Rene,

    Will do so. A fellow blogger just gave me a link to a few running routes in Cebu and I’m going to try it out. Cheers to you! 🙂

    April 15, 2009 at 1:58 PM

  4. efren antiporda

    set a new goal. why not run the entire lenght from Bantayan down he he he it will keep you busy. Bye my friend see you after ur project we run again in meralco

    Hi Sir Efren!

    From Bantayan Island to my workplace/residence? Hmmm… Good idea. But whattadistance!!! 😛

    When I get back from Cebu, we resume the hills @ Meralco. 🙂

    April 15, 2009 at 4:07 PM

Leave a Reply

