Why I HATE Running

After being inspired by the Running Fatboy (aka Dennis), I came up with my own hate list about running. Many thanks to you, bro. =)

10 Aside from Gatorade, you’ll be spending on energy gels/beans, which don’t come really cheap.

09 You’re pressured to finish a road race in the fastest possible time so you’ll have something to brag about to your friends – only problem is, you may have the fastest time, but you’ll be so wasted after the race that you can barely walk.

08 Skin chaffing. Nuff said.

07 After running you don’t have enough energy to perform any other activity (like watching TV, surfing the net, or romancing your significant other). It’s off to the bed for you.

06 There’s lots of training plans about running, but which one is the best among all of them?

05 You think about it all the time, Pondering about running is good in itself, but it can get in the way of your work. For example, you’re deep in thought about which running route to tackle after dealing with the workday, or how long you should run.

04 Potential sunburn, especially if running on open environments during summertime!

03 You’re making yourself prone to vehicular accidents, especially if you do a long distance run or a runabout. Hence, that’s additional reflector gear for you.

02 It’s not really a cheap sport, as many people claim. Once you get hooked, you’ll be buying the Garmins/Suuntos, HRMs, road IDs, running apparel that suit you well, and a good pair of running shoes that you’ll have to replace often, especially if you favor running long distances.

01 Waking up very early to participate in a road race. Why bother getting up as early as 4AM on a weekend to pump yourself up when you could sleep it off until noon? Hehe! So bad of me.

2 responses

  1. itsmysocalledlife

    me too, i hate waking up so early in the morning just for a run. kaso sayang yung registration fee kung hindi ka pupunta. hehehe. 😀

    Hi Ardygy,

    True. Sayang ang binayad natin if we don’t go… Especially if the race doesn’t issue a free singlet. 😛

    April 16, 2009 at 10:43 AM

  2. cathydaza

    Hey Carlo, nice blog eh! How’s Cebu, Mr Drummer? If I may comment on #7, dont worry much about it.. after sometime when you’re more used to running long distances (and given that you do the MUCH impt post-stretches), you’ll get the hang of it and you can get on with your usual stuff after a race/ long run, as if nothing happened.

    Before, I’d be bedridden the whole day after a 10k race or a long run. Now after the post-race/run breakfast and taking a shower, it’s pretty much an ordinary day for me. And I like it that the body gets used to the stress level and adjusts. 😉

    (What a long comment eh. Sorry I like giving unsolicited advices hehehe)

    Hello there Cathy, nice of you to drop by my site. Thanks so much. =)

    Cebu is great! Love the people here, the running environment… and most especially, the food! =D Speaking of which, would you be related in any way to the Dazas that do cooking shows on TV? Just curious. My mother watches it a lot when I was still small.

    Actually, #7 is now a thing of the past. Now that I have become adept to running long distances I still have the energy to do other stuff – like cook my food or iron my clothes while watching TV. Or even blog about the long run I just did, or post it on http://www.dailymile.com. Yes, stretching after the run is key, otherwise we’ll end up waking still wasted the next day. That happened to me once and it wasn’t a good experience.

    No worries about the long comment. I welcome it – even unsolicited advice is food for thought. Thanks again, Cathy, and I hope to run with you soon. =)

    May 29, 2009 at 5:40 PM

Leave a Reply

