DNR @ Sun Fest Fun Run =(

I wasn’t able to run on the Sun Fest Fun Run last April 25. =(

I thought the program was to start at 9AM – for after all, it was stated in the program. So I went to Ayala Alabang at around 830AM to prepare myself for the race and to get good parking. But when I went to the starting line, it seemed as if everything was a ghost town. Not a single runner was there warming up or doing rounds on the race route. I asked the guards who were there at that time if they knew of any fun run that was going to take place. They also knew that it was 9AM. It was weird. Maybe I was too early or something. So I decided to warm up a bit by running the first few meters of the race route.

But when I went back, I saw on the sidewalk a spoiled race bib. That only meant that I completely missed the event. =( Darn! This was supposed to be my training run for the May 3 Southern Race! Oh well. In the end, I went home, but as a recompense, I did a 1.3K speed run on our village oval. At least nothing was wasted, and I was able to run somehow.

Moral of the story? Clarify with race organizers regarding the actual start time of the run, just to be sure. Never live on assumptions alone!

4 responses

  1. Sorry to hear about this. But at least you were able to do a short practice run. BTW assembly time for the Southern Race is at 5:00 a.m. and the 10 k race starts at 5:30 am to minimize sun exposure. See you!

    Hi there Sir Ipe,

    Yeah. Better to have run than not run at all. 😦

    And thanks for the info! πŸ™‚ Hope to see you there.

    April 28, 2009 at 5:31 PM

  2. Eo

    The run started at 6 a.m. I was surprised that you weren’t there since nagkita pa tayo sa Bellevue for the registration.

    Hi Eo,

    Oo nga e. I didn’t know that the run was supposed to be at 6AM – first and foremost, I didn’t ask kasi. Hehehe. Oh well. Di bale, there will be a May 3 run again at Alabang. Will you be joining that one too? =)

    April 28, 2009 at 5:48 PM

    • Eo

      Yes, but I haven’t registered yet. I’ll do it tomorrow or Friday. See you.

      Nice. See you at the starting line. πŸ™‚

      April 29, 2009 at 11:55 AM

  3. Sad that you missed the race. it was a small village race but fun. it started at 6am. anyway i think the organizer plans to have it every year. so we will see you next year. regards

    Hi Pat,

    So unfortunate for me to miss this race. I shall take my vengeance at the ATC Southern Race on May 3. Having that kind of race every year will be good so definitely I will be participating come 2010. Cheers!

    April 29, 2009 at 9:16 AM

Leave a Reply

