Cebu Run Route # 5: “The Airport”

Another LSD completed this morning – to be exact, nearly 4 hours ago. This is by far the longest LSD I’ve ever done. =)

Photobucket

(Markers are shown in kilometers.)

This one is similar to the long run I had last Saturday, only that this time around, I took some time and effort to visit the airport. Hence, the route’s name. =P Again, I had to wake early for this one. I set my alarm to 330AM but I had a hard time getting my touche off the bed since it was cold in my room and I only had around 4 hours of sleep. But what the hell, it’s now or never. This LSD was supposed to be done yesterday but I stayed up late to watch a movie with my colleagues at work. Another reason why I got up early is that the sun rises quite early in Cebu, and I don’t want the heat to disturb my training. So I was out on the roads by 4AM. I thought that I would finish a little before 7AM, but the heat got into me as I passed the 16K mark and beyond. Yep, it was THAT hot already by 7AM and I couldn’t concentrate that much anymore. Admittedly, after KM16 I had to go with my usual run-and-go strategy so that I’ll have enough strength to get back to the condominium. In addition, I had to stop at the gas station to refuel my hydration belt, and drink some Cobra so that I’ll be pumped up somehow. Caffeine, glorious caffeine.

And yeah, I got to go through the twin bridges of Cebu yet again, with the usual crowd of morning joggers conquering the apex and doing their stretching. One thing I found very relaxing during the run was the fact it was breezy on top of the Marcelo Fernan bridge – there is a section approaching KM8 where in you can feel the breeze. I had to stop and feel it since it was really soothing to the body. After a few minutes of rest and appreciation of this wonder, I ran again.

Surprisingly enough, I finished the entire course in 3 hours and 18 minutes. The usual pace I would normally go for an LSD would be a constant 10 min/KM. Yes, my legs do feel tired as of now, but hey, at least I completed it though it was blazing hot in the last few stretches of the run. In the end I was semi-wasted but fulfilled, and eventually I rewarded myself with a sumptuous breakfast c/o Jollibee. =)

Starting from the condominium, work your day down to F. Cabahug, then make a left. Follow the vehicles until you get to Alpa City Suites. Make a right when you see this building. Continue running until you see a mini-flyover. Underneath it is M. Briones, one of the national roads will be traversing for this course of this run. Turn left, and make sure you run against traffic. It would be helpful if you bring along a light source at this section since there are many dark areas and you might trip on something, thereby causing you to lose your momentum. If you do see any flyovers along the way, do not attempt to go up them or you wil be run over. SERIOUSLY. Run until you see a signage showing the way to Mactan Airport. This is the time to go right, and when you do, you have passed KM5. Run along with the other runners that come your way – they will be making their way up to the bridge. When you get there and feel a rush of wind move across your body, stop a while and take time to appreciate it – it won’t be that windy after that. After crossing the bridge, make a left, and you will be heading to the Mactan Export Processing Zone. You will have some landmarks telling you when to make a right to the airport: (1) a welcome sign from the export processing zone itself; (2) a big clock from Timex, which will remind you of Big Ben in London; and (3) another signage. Now battle the gradual uphill path and continue running until you see the airport’s tarmac. Keep running until you see the arrows leading to the departure area. When you get to the actual airport itself, you’re halfway done with the course. Refuel and rest a while, then go back all the way you came from. After you’ve passed the big Timex clock and made a left, run to the second bridge. When you get down from it, you have 6K to tackle, but it will be hard if the sun’s already up, so head home as fast as you can with minimal breaks! When you see a flyover, make a left, then head your way to the second flyover, at which point you should make a right. Run until you see Alpa City suites again – you’ll have only a little over 2K so push yourself. At Sarrosa hotel, make a right, then run all the way back to the condominium.

I got some pictures c/o of my phone’s camera. =)

KM0. Actual time of departure: 407AM.

Just passed the 5K mark.

KM6. A little more before I get to the bridge…

This bridge looks familiar…

…and this one, too.
Heck, they’re both glorious sights with the lights on. =D

Admiring the view with the breeze from the left…

…now from the right.

One of them markers telling you you’re near the airport.

Actual road to the airport.

The tarmac from afar. Can you see the plane?

The hotel LITERALLY beside the airport. Cool, huh.

Wait, I covered the departures and arrivals signage…

Oh, there it is.

Hey, I’m not exactly leaving yet… =P

Welcome to the airport. It’s this busy already at 6AM.

Resting with the trees…

Time to go back.

A semblance of Big Ben, c/o the folks at Timex.

Wow, looks like the Golden Gate bridge from afar. Already passed KM15 at this point.

The Sykes building – the signal that you’re almost done.

To zoom in on the map, click here.

I think this should be enough training for the next race I’m about to join in. Time to taper. But I’ll still be running this week – it’ll be a bunch of easy runs from here on in. =)

7 responses

  1. Bro, mukhang slimming down tayo sa mga pics ah…dahil ba sa LSD yan? Dinaig ng running ang masarap na food ng Cebu? πŸ™‚

    Hi there Rico!

    Am I really slimming down? Hehehe, you be the judge when we see each other at Baguio. =P

    One other thing, kaya ko ito tinatakbo dahil NAPAKSARAP nga naman ang foodies sa Cebu… And I don’t want to bloat myself. Hahahaha!

    May 17, 2009 at 3:40 PM

  2. Pasalubong pagbalik mo dito this weekend ha. Torones de Mani. Otap. Dried Mangoes. Etc. etc. etc. etc. hehehe.

    Yes Jinoe, I know, I know. =P

    May 17, 2009 at 11:06 PM

  3. Let

    nice post. nakakainggit sana tinakbo din namin ang route mo nung last visit namin sa Cebu. kaso food tripping ang nangyari kaya runless vacation. hehehe. enjoy running. πŸ™‚

    Hi there RDG aka Let,

    Don’t worry. When you visit Cebu again make it a point to run the twin bridges. You won’t regret the experience. =)

    May 18, 2009 at 7:40 AM

  4. rod

    adik!!! ehem… tama si jinoe, ang mga pasalubong ha. hehehe

    bro, if nakakapunta ka ng SM Cebu. try to drop by our store there. Specifically the FLOJOS California. Check out mo lang yung checks…este chicks. =) wehehhee

    Adik Rod!!! Hehehe.

    Once pa lang ako nakakapunta ng SM Cebu. Aba, may business ka din pala out of Manila, wehehehe. Sige, I’ll try to drop by your store. Ano yung pangalan niya?

    May 18, 2009 at 8:55 AM

  5. jo paiso

    Excellleeeent run bro. keep it up and try the road up to Busay! At least walang taxis diyan….TRUCKS LANG;)

    I have a question for you. There is a new highway past the Basilica de Sto Nino and Magellan’s cross that is just by the bayside and is the gateway to the southern part of Cebu. I’ve driven down there once and always wondered when I would do a run there. I was cautioned by my bro that it’s not allowed but I know I will run it. Will definely try when I get there.

    Congrats again and good luck on your next running adventure!

    jo paiso

    Hi there Doc Jo!

    Wow, even more suggestions for discovery runs. Thanks thanks! Will try to go through them when the weather’s good. Rain has been rampant here for days now.

    With regards to the highway… I don’t know about that (yet) but the word highway in itself looks like an interesting place to run on. I’ll post about it when I get the chance. A repeat of the Condura Skyway Run, perhaps? =P

    Hope to run with you soon, Doc!

    May 18, 2009 at 8:38 PM

  6. Haide

    I was amazed while reading your Cebu running entries, the way you tracked and memorialized and shared all those routes. For non-Garmin users, it’s really frustrating when you train on the road and not know the exact mileage of the training route. What we do is just run the usual 5K, 10K and 21K routes of Milo or go back and forth Capitol and City Central School, which becomes boring after a while.

    If it is OK with you, Can I blog about your routes and link them to your Cebu running entries? Thanks Carlo for sharing.

    Hi there Haide!

    I have to admit, during my first few weeks here in Cebu, it was quite hard to memorize some of the road landmarks so that I won’t get lost while running. Back then I didn’t have the Garmin yet, so I purely relied on distance computations and street locations from MapMyRun. But with the device in my hands (or wrist, as the case may be), things are much easier. And after several running adventures, I sort of memorize the major roads of Cebu City already. =)

    I still rely on MapMyRun so as to decide where to run (and note the distance I’ll be running so that I don’t go over or under a required distance, as I’m following a regimen from Runner’s World). Also, this site lets me explore new running routes. It’s quite useful. You might want to try it yourself.

    Yes, Haide, by all means do blog about my Cebu running routes. I am quite honored, honestly. =)

    Keep on running! See you on the roads soon!

    July 23, 2009 at 9:53 AM

  7. Haide

    By the way, I’m runner 1201 on the “need more proof” photo of your Milo entry. My next big race is the QC International Marathon on October 18. Baka magkita pa tayo dun.

    Yup Haide, I also had the same realization last night, upon looking at some of your pics at your Milo entry. =)

    Coolness! I’ll also be there at the QCIM. I’ll do another 21K, so definitely we will be seeing each other. What’s your category for that race?

    July 23, 2009 at 9:55 AM

Leave a Reply

