New (Running) Toys To Play With!

Last weekend I went back to Manila to reunite with my family, to be with my significant other, and to get some new toys for myself – related to running. Look at what I got.

Photobucket
Photobucket

A new pair of New Balance 1063s, which I got from Rico for half the regular price. He said these babies had only gone 50K. Though it had its maiden voyage already, I wouldn’t miss out on his offer. It still looks good and it hasn’t gone that far yet. Besides, NB 1063s treat my feet quite well! Now I have a pair which I will use solely for road races. My other pair will be used thoroughly during my training sessions. Thanks, Rico! =)

I have thought of silly names for my running shoes: the old pair will be named Copy, while this newly acquired pair will be named Paste (IT professionals FTW). Hahaha, got the idea from an attachment I received on e-mail before. =P

Photobucket

A new pair of running shorts. They’re a tad shorter than the yellow shorts I frequently use, but its comfortable nonetheless. The good thing about these shorts is that they fit the takbo.ph well. Apparently, one of my fellow runners keeps on “scolding” me for wearing them yellow shorts – in my defense, they go well with my current footwear. Hahaha. But these new shorts mean worlds to me because my significant other gave this to me as a birthday present. Thank you so much, baby! Lots of hugs and love to you… I miss you and love you so much. =*

Photobucket
Photobucket

And finally, a Garmin Forerunner 305, which I got for a huge, discounted price from Doc Lyn. I have been becoming conscious about my pace lately (especially after the good time I showed during the Earth Run), that’s why I decided to get one of these. In addition, I want to improve my pace so I can set new PRs – hopefully – and it’ll tell me when to speed up or slow down when I’m running. Coolness, huh. Cheers to you, Doc Lyn! =)

(Originally I was planning to buy the Suunto t3c Running Pack, which I mentioned in a previous post. But since the opportunity to get the Garmin at a lower price was there, might as well take it!)

I gave all three a test drive last Sunday at the 1st PTAA Charity Run. In the end, I ended up having a new 10K PR. =)

To Rico, Doc Lyn, and the love of my life… thank you so much for being supportive of this addiction of mine. Can’t wait to be with all of you again when I come back to Manila. =)

5 responses

  1. Very nice karlo! A garmin, new pair of shoes and shorts! you’re such an addict! hahaha!

    Hahaha! Thanks, Argo 🙂

    June 20, 2009 at 3:36 PM

  2. Ooooohhh! New toys! *drool* ‘Di kaya magselos yung significant other mo niyan kasi may bago ka nang GF? 😛

    We will surely miss the “yellow!” Hehehe! 😀


    Hahaha! Nice one, Doc Eric =) Nah, she won’t get jealous of this GF because it can’t give love like my real significant other… Hanggang pace and distance lang siya! Hehehe! =P

    Yeah, I will miss my yellow running shorts… That has brought me to a lot of races. =)

    June 21, 2009 at 3:47 PM

  3. akala ko ba eh i uuwi mo ung yellow shorts dito sa manila, papapirmahan mo sa amin at ipapa frame mo? asan na? hahahaha 😉

    un lang, i thank you. bow 🙂 heheheh

    and yeah, the new shorts looks way way much better hahaha

    susunod nyort nyorts na yan! hahahaha

    Nasa Manila na siya, Timmy. Hindi ko pa lang nafe-frame. Hihihi. =P

    June 21, 2009 at 6:55 PM

  4. rachel

    Hey Carlo! So many toys naman!! Buti you! Haha! up, your new shorts are much (much, much) better than the yellow ones. Aren’t you glad your significant other has some fashion sense?? Wow, can you watch DVD in your Garmin too???


    Hi there H! =D

    So what are you trying to say? That I don’t carry fashion sense when I’m running? Hehehehe =P

    Wow, if my Garmin had that functionality, ang saya naman nun, I get to entertain myself while running =)

    June 22, 2009 at 10:43 AM

  5. mykolant

    Hey! Sarap talaga when you have new toys to play with, ano?! The NBs look great! The shorts go with the singlet! Tapos the GF 305 may the ultimate gear for a running adik gyud like you! More power Carlo! See you in the next race!

    Hahaha! You got that right, Mike =) Toys for the big boys. Wahahaha. =P

    See you on the next race, bro. Still deciding when that would be… =)

    June 27, 2009 at 5:55 PM

Leave a Reply

