Confession Of A Running Addict

Photobucket

I had this shirt custom made over the independence day weekend and I have been wearing it ever since I made it. Without a doubt, I confess that I am a total running addict. After getting the Garmin and a brand new pair of shoes, there are several moments during a single day when I ask when and how long I’m going to run. There’s the feeling that if I don’t run, my day won’t be complete. Even a simple 5K run would do for me, as long as I get to opportunity to move my legs and propel myself to other places I’ve never been to.

It’s such a wonder what running does to your life. Not only do you lose weight in the process, but the distances are somehow relative near to you. Instead of driving a 5K on your car to a certain, why not run for it? Come back to your point of origin and you would have done a 10K already. There’s that certain viewpoint that gets stuck in your brain that when you want to get from point A to point B and you know that you can do it on foot, the best thing to come out of your mouth is, “kayang takbuhin ‘yan.” =)

But of course, running addicts need rest also. As much as I would like to run everyday (even a short distance every other day would suffice), my legs and feet need some time off as well. Too much of it and I’ll suffer a great loss – not only in terms of performance, but also in determination.

As Doc Iris has mentioned, it feels so good to be active. Case in point – an excess, violent rush of happy hormones after each running session. (Doc, you know what I mean by this one. Hehehe.)

Yeah, I’m glad I adopted running into my lifestyle. And there’s no way I can eradicate this from my system – it’s a vice that I must cater and heed to when I feel its calling. To run or not to run? Let rhetorics speak for itself. You know the answer. So join and adopt my addiction. BE A RUNNING ADDICT. Heaven knows that you will NOT regret your decision. =)

4 responses

  1. Hi Caloy. Great post. I don’t regret all the years that I’ve been doing it. One experiences a lot of things in races, the friendships, the different courses, areas of the country and the world. Take care and have a good week ahead. Milo this weekend?

    Hey there Wayne! Thanks much. Yup, I’m doing Milo this weekend. Let’s go 21K!!! 😀

    June 30, 2009 at 2:07 AM

  2. Rod

    adik bay!!! =)

    KAPWA ADIK! =P

    June 30, 2009 at 2:37 AM

  3. Hey Caloy. I am NOT a running addict, thank you very much. lol. But I admire and respect your addiction! Traveling from Cebu to Manila for the rush of a run is a pretty good indication that you are indeed an addict. 🙂 Great to run with you last Sunday. See you soon! Marga

    Hey there, Marga =)

    Yup, being a jetsetter is the other indication. Can’t help but run with you guys! =)

    See you soon. My next race is the Run For Home event! Have you registered yet?

    June 30, 2009 at 8:53 AM

  4. Hi I’m Argonaut and I’m a running addict….

    Kelan ang ating next therapy? Anong race? hahahah!

    Hahaha! Nice one, fellow addict! =D

    I have 3 races this month. I’ll be posting about it. Take your pick – all of them will give the same theraputic soothing we both crave for. =P

    July 4, 2009 at 5:09 PM

Leave a Reply

