My Disappointing Sunday

Yesterday, I was supposed to join a portion of the team at The Fort to participate in a long run as practice for the Globe-Ayala run this coming sunday, as replacement for my non-participation at the Fit and Fun Buddy Run. I was hoping to peak at least 15K while maintaining a semi-relaxed pace. Besides, I was following the short training program offered to me by SmartCoach. I only have one long run allocated in my schedule – 11K at 7:21 km/min. I thought 11K wasn’t going to be enough so I might as well break it. It’ll be good for me anyway.

Rod and I weren’t able to get in the race yesterday because all slots were completely gone – how sad. Oh well.

Unfortunately, the night before that run, I had too much fun. Let’s leave it at that.

As a result, I got home and turned in quite late. The end result? I wasn’t able to wake up, even though I had set my alarm for 430AM. I suddenly woke up when I heard my phone ring – it was set on the loudest setting and I had the most blatant ringtone anyone has ever imagined. I checked the visual and I saw one of my runner friends, Rodel, calling me. He was asking me where I was. Half-awake, half-asleep, and fully groggy, I told him I was still in bed trying to get more sleep. That left me wondering why in the world he would call me at 530AM. It was only today that I realized that he needed a partner for the Buddy Run after his partner failed to wake up as well. Dang, a lot of things happen on a Saturday night. I’m not really sure if he still pushed through with the race (since the primary requirement is a buddy for you to run along with).

Yesterday was quite lacking for me. Not a single race, not even a practice run.

Which is why I’m running long tonight. Heck, I don’t care if it rains hard (I can see thick clouds hovering above from my office window), as long as I get to run.

Curse those beer bottles I had to chug… =T

8 responses

  1. Same here bro… raceless weekend. It’s a good thing that I was able to find some treads to at least relieve some running frustration (with a measly 4K in all!). Well let’s turn this around next week! 🙂

    Hi there Dennis!

    Hehe, thank goodness for treadmills. I wish they also had some at the airport while waiting for my flight 2 days ago… =P Yup, we’ll be making that comeback at the Globe-Ayala run. See yah! =)

    July 13, 2009 at 6:20 PM

  2. Rod

    ayan… inom kase ng inom… hehehe! see you sunday, bro! =)

    Sorry, may karapatan din naman akong uminom di ba =P Kitakits on Sunday!

    July 13, 2009 at 9:01 PM

  3. Good for you weekend lang walang run. After my 21k at Milo, I didn’t run for a week. Imagine my joy when i got to run this evening!

    heaven bro! see you at Run for Home!

    Hi there Gerard!

    A WEEK WITH NO RUNNING? Wow, that’s quite a loooooong break. But good to know that you’re back on the road again. Yup, it must have felt like heaven, I would feel the same if I were in your shoes.

    See you this Sunday! Train well! =)

    July 13, 2009 at 10:48 PM

  4. Hey Carlow,

    Oks lang yan. Paminsan minsan relax ka naman.
    Bawi na lang sa Globe. Sama ka sa team CLP this friday if nandito ka na.

    See you!

    Hi there Neil,

    Baka nga the heavens might have told me to relax. Masyadong naadik e. Hehehe.
    I won’t make it to the CLP kasi Saturday pa ang flight ko… So ikain niyo na lang ako and enjoy kayo =)

    See you Sunday! Good luck on your maiden 21K! =)

    July 14, 2009 at 4:47 AM

  5. Carloww! It’s okay happens to everyone. Hey I didn’t even know you were in Manila!If it’s any solace to you, Argow ( aka Runner Y) didn’t NEED a partner…. he didn’t wake up and he had a partner waiting for him. He was looking for someone who could partner up for the guy. 🙂 Ika nga ni kuya MJ…. “You are not alone……”

    See you on Sunday man. 🙂

    Hi there Luis!

    Don’t worry, I’m not that regretful anymore. I guess it’s God’s way of telling me to rest for a while. =)

    See you Sunday, bro! Along with Tito Caloy! =)

    July 15, 2009 at 6:50 AM

  6. You’re really getting to be an addict … fast becoming addict to running. Runner’s life like that. Sometimes you run, other times your body just shut off. Rest will do you good. Believe me! See you on Sunday! 😉

    Hi there Ms. Diva,

    Yeah, maybe I’ve been running too much or something. But it’s okay. Addicts need rest too. =) I’ve rested enough over the weekend and now back on the road to training once again.

    See you on Sunday! Let’s run on Makati asphalt! Can’t wait =)

    July 15, 2009 at 11:47 AM

  7. Present! I mean Absent! I was able to join buddy run last sunday… To make the story worse… I ditched a partner! my bad!!!!

    Hi there Argo,

    Awww… That’s okay. I’m sure your partner will understand =)

    July 16, 2009 at 8:49 PM

  8. I mean I wasn’t able to join pala… hehe! and that is the reason why i called you… lol!

    I really was surprised when you made that call… Hehehehe. =P

    July 16, 2009 at 8:50 PM

Leave a Reply

