Race Review: 4th Cebu Doctors’ University Run, August 23

I have to admit, when I woke up at around 430AM this morning, I wasn’t really in the mood to race. My mindset was not set at getting my legs moving due to a bad run last weekend. Clearly, I haven’t gotten over this “nightmare”. Moreover, I wasn’t looking after a new personal record because my spirits were not up and running. But I stood up anyway, not only for the fact I don’t want my 200 bucks to go to waste, but also because there was a window of opportunity to redeem myself. Heck, the door’s open for a new record, so might as well take it before its gone.

I arrived at the race site at around 515AM, at which point I began waiting for the Marathon Foodie as she was also going to run in the same category as I was in. After knowing that the course was going to be a relatively easy one, for the fact that the route was (nearly) vehicle-free, this was my big chance to run like hell and come back from a disappointing performance during the Urbanite event. I set my Garmin to have pace zones that will alert me if I’m going faster than 5:30 min/km, or if I’m going below 6:00 min/km. I didn’t have any tempo runs before this event, but I gunned for this pace anyway. Who knows, something good might happen.

The race start a little after 6AM, just before the sun began searing its rays on all the participants. The 10K course was going to be 2 laps of the 5K route.

For the first few kilometers I was doing well. Thank goodness that my stomach was treating me well so there were no chances of me having stomach pains this time. But 25 minutes after gun start the sun at its brightest, and I could feel the heat and humidity starting to settle in. Usually I could go for a 10K with minimal water breaks, but since it was getting hotter and hotter, there was no choice for me but to stop and to rehydrate, making sure not to ingest too much. As the run progressed further, the heat was starting to get unbearable, and I was slowly getting uncomfortable. The more I ran fast, the more I got thirsty and needing for water to pour above my head. As such, there was no doubt that I stop at every water station I saw along the way and got a few cups of water for my body and for my head. Too bad that they didn’t have any of those cold sponges that you could smother across your face – but it’s alright, pouring a cup of water over myself is enough to keep myself from falling apart.

At the approach to KM9 I was starting to break down. It was extremely hot already and the finish line was nearing. There was no time to lose, though I was still well within my target. One Cebu running legend, Madelyn Carter, came to the aid of several runners who were about to cross the finish line. One of them was myself. After passing the second to the last water station, I saw the Marathon Foodie making her final approach, screaming to push as hard as she could as the finish line was up ahead. Madelyn approached me and another runner and showered us with water, while she was telling us that there was a little more to go. After that, I thanked her and sped all the way to the finish line. 500 meters before reaching the arc, I got my last cup of water, gulped it quickly, and gave it all I got. The official race timer was nearly synchronous with my Garmin and both devices recorded a finish time of under 58 minutes!

SUCCESS! I HAVE BROKEN MY 10K RECORD!!! =D

After panting heavily and stretching a bit, I began wondering what had happened to the Marathon Foodie. I decided to retrace the route and she was nearing the finish line as well. Madelyn was pacing her as well, along with another runner. Upon checking the race clock, she was only 15 seconds close to beating the 60-minute barrier. We told her to push as much as she could and in the end, she also set a new record as well. She beat the 60-minute mark by 2 seconds. So that’s still a sub-60 finish!

Feeling good after the run, I got my baggage and brought out my camera, then began to take post-race pictures. Being that Haide was quite close with the media here in Cebu, she took me to the inner sanctum and the Cebu Doctors’ University, and she got me a picture with my childhood crush, Donna Cruz! Finally, one of my lifelong dreams realized =D I know I seem quite shallow, but really, meeting up with her for the first time really made my day. I even managed to get her autograph on the CDU singlet, which you’ll get to see later. In addition, I felt very happy when she told me that she reads through my blog and also that of takbo.ph. In fact, she even told me that there should a picture with takbo.ph! Good thing I was wearing the singlet. Thanks for the support!

I also got to meet Doctor Yong, her husband, and a couple of surprise guests who also took part of this event – Sunshine Cruz and Cesar Montano. When the CDU students saw them they couldn’t help but scream their hearts out.

Wow. I had a good run this morning. Broke my 10K record, met up with new running buddies, and a picture with Donna Cruz. Heck, my day is complete already. Now I relish this victory as I rest my legs off. =)

Here’s my review:

D (direction) – the race route is located at the Cebu Doctors’ University. Car-free, and pure flat ground, amidst dusty sections and portions of corrugated asphalt. This is an easy course and there’s no doubt you can set a new running record here. There’s one problem though. Since there was no race check-in, one could easily cheat on this run and start from somewhere else. I heard from sources that someone managed to cheat and got away with it. What a shame.

R (registration) – you can either head to CDU or to the Cebu City Sports Complex. It’s quite easy if you know the place. I had myself registered c/o Haide. Thanks again.

U (uhaw) – you WILL get thirsty in this race due to the heat, although there are more than ample water stations. So it would be best if you have a hydration belt with you while running.

M (money) – 200 bucks gets you a singlet and a Sun SIM card. Wow, that’s very generous of them. =)

S (safety) – there are lots of marshalls scattered along the route and its free of vehicles so there’s no danger for runners here. Lots of first aid response units also. The only risk I can see is that of dehydration, so drink when you need to.

Some pictures follow:

Photobucket
Finishers!

Photobucket
Runners with the Marathon Foodie.

Photobucket
The Marathon Foodie and friends (Mary, Arlene, and Cattski).

Photobucket
Now me with them.

Photobucket
CDU students awaiting some showbiz appearances…

Photobucket
With Donna Cruz! YES!!! =D

Photobucket
The lawyer, the actress, and the man. Hehehe! =P

Photobucket
Now this time, with Doctor Yong Larrazabal, Sunshine Cruz, and Cesar Montano.

Photobucket
My autographed CDU singlet…

Photobucket
Thanks again, Donna! =D

According to Haide there’s going to be one more Cebu run to cap off August 2009. Here are the details.

30 August (6AM)
1st Cebu Diamond Lions Club Fun Run
Venue: Cebu Business Park (Back of CIC)
10K, 5K, 3K
Registration Fee: P200
Registration Venue: Phil. Sports Commission

(@ Cebu City Sports Center)
Tel. No. 2547786 Look for Audie or Lerma

Here’s the race route

Photobucket

And a split analysis. The slowdowns indicate water breaks.

Photobucket

Another 10K for me? Sure! It’s part of my training program anyway. This time, I’ll be chasing for no new records. It’ll be a simple long run. =)

9 responses

  1. Naks naman! Si Carlo rubbing elbows with celebrities. Hehe.

    Congrats by the way on breaking the 60-minute barrier!

    Hehehe! Might as well take the opportunity, right? Thanks, Rico! =D

    August 24, 2009 at 12:51 PM

  2. it’s good to know that you break your old personal record! marami pala tayo!

    Hello there Ling,

    Yes, there were a lot of us who shattered our records last Sunday, including yourself and Haide. Congratulations to us!

    Will you be running this Sunday at the Lions Club run?

    August 25, 2009 at 10:53 AM

  3. elkyoshi

    Congrats for setting a new 10k PR and a sub-60 run. But, more importantly, for that photo op with Donna Cruz! (I totally understand, I was like that with Lilet.. he he…)

    Thanks, Alfred. Who is Lilet, BTW? I’m clueless.

    August 25, 2009 at 11:51 AM

    • elkyoshi

      Ha ha ha… ‘di mo na siguro inabutan… singer-actress din bago pa siguro sumikat si Donna Cruz… google mo baka matandaan mo. By some twist of fate, we ended up in the same seminar and were elected officers of the association of Filipino Nihongo teachers.

      Don’t really know him, Alfred. Baka hindi ko nga naabutan. =(

      August 26, 2009 at 12:06 PM

      • Lilet was in “That’s Entertainment” and sang in a Coke commercial in the mid 80’s “I am the future of the world, I am the hope of my nation, I am tomorrow’s people, I am the new inspiration.”

        Matanda na kamo ni elkyoshi, di lang halata kasi nakakabata ang running. LOL

        Hindi ko na talaga kilala yan Haide =P Ang naaalala ko na lang si Chuckie Dreyfuss and Isabel Granada =P

        Tama ka, nakakabata talaga ang takbo. Even though we’re old we look like we’re in our early 20s. Naaaks. =P

        August 30, 2009 at 9:22 PM

  4. livelife21

    Hi, saw you last Sunday’s University Run. Congrats on your new PR…:-)

    Hello there livelife21,

    Many thanks! =) Are you also based in Cebu?

    August 27, 2009 at 9:59 AM

  5. madie carter

    hi sir,
    thanks for the kind comments in your blog,its a pleasure to encourage other approaching to finish line.
    congrats for ur new pr.keep up the goodwork

    Hello there Miss Madelyn,

    Thank you also for pacing with me on the race. It really helped.

    See you on the next Cebu run. =)

    August 28, 2009 at 7:15 PM

  6. Grabe na ang Level mo Carlo! astig!

    Hahaha hindi pa kaya… Still have a lot of work to do. But thanks nonetheless =)

    September 5, 2009 at 9:44 PM

  7. nica de leon

    awww…really want to meet donna cruz too, in one of running event..i hope i will be able to see her this coming nature valley run….she’s really my ultimate idol..ever….

    Hi there Nica,

    Don’t worry. She’s my idol as well – ever since. =) Hopefully we’ll get to see her on the Nature Valley Run!

    April 30, 2010 at 5:54 PM

Leave a Reply

