Project Cuarenta: My Farthest, Craziest Run Ever

Accomplished the day after Christmas, Project Cuarenta is the name I have given to my longest run as of date. But why the reference to the number 40? Here’s how it works.

In our park there is a concrete oval serving as one of the major roads in the village. Although much cars pass through it (especially on weekends), the place gets really breezy in the early morning and late afternoon. No wonder many joggers run this path every single day. According to the GF 305 a complete loop around this park would equate to 800 meters. Now if you do 40 loops of these, you would be able to run 32K. Hence, Project Cuarenta. =)

But some of you may ask, the Bald Runner hosted a 32K event last December 30. I wanted to join that race – however, due to sudden circumstances I was forced to drop out. This is the very reason why I went solo, apart that I am training for the Condura Run next year.

My initial strategy for this run was to stop every 10 laps for a water break at a comfortable pace. That’s a water break every 8K. For 70% of the course it really did work, as shown by the following splits.

Photobucket

However, after KM23, I found myself running short of breath and exhausted. Thankfully I was in the middle of completing lap 30 so I pushed myself to reach KM24 in a decent state. That’s what you get for having monstrous splits for the first few kilometers! Geez! (I checked the split times for 21K on Excel and discovered that I would have a new 21K PR already.) Anyway, upon completing lap 30 I decided to revise my strategy to reach the beloved 32K with a strong finish. There were 10 laps to go and I was that close to victory. So I decided to stop every 5 laps after KM24. But that still didn’t work for me. I was panting here and there!

Before completing the last 5 laps (the last 4K of the course), I had another change in strategy again. I told myself to stop for a water break at every kilometer and walk for around for a few seconds or so. Thankfully this plan of attack worked, and when I reached the 40th lap I felt so fulfilled. I never knew I would be able to break beyond 30K in my life. And it feels GREAT! Yebah! =D

So what’s next after 32K? Well, I’m thinking to do a full 36. That should serve as my final long run before I start cutting down on the mileage. And in this run I will be implementing the Galloway approach – run for a certain number of minutes, then walk a full minute. Then repeat. =)

And next time, I’ll make sure to bring my iPod so I won’t get bored. Running in circles can get annoying after a while.

Here’s the route that I did…

Photobucket

If anyone in the south wants to do this with me sometime, do inform me. =)

5 responses

  1. Wow Carlo! Galing. I ran the same course last Sunday. But I got bored at 8km and decided to run the other streets. Looking at your splits, if you get to strategize a very good run-walk equation, you’re on a 4:30 FM or even better!

    Good luck and run strong & injury-free!

    Thanks, Neil!

    But I have yet to find the perfect run-walk equation for myself. How do you do that??? =)

    December 31, 2009 at 2:00 PM

  2. hmm… let me summon first all the courage in me, to run in circles hehehe

    congrats caloydude!

    Thanks Jet!

    And if you do, tell me. Mag-adik tayo. =P

    December 31, 2009 at 2:00 PM

  3. digitaldash

    wow, carlo, what an EQ you have! haha.
    nice run last week! time to get that e-pass ready for condura! πŸ˜‰

    Hahaha, thanks Tracy =)

    It really WAS hard keeping up EQ to stable levels =P And yes, it really was a good run last week. Let’s run for Amici again? =D

    I’m still finding a good holder for my E-pass hehehe!

    December 31, 2009 at 2:33 PM

  4. Hamster session?! Adik ka! πŸ˜€

    Good luck sa Condura! πŸ™‚

    Hahaha! I like that term Doc Eric! Thanks! =)

    When will we get to run with you again?

    December 31, 2009 at 7:33 PM

  5. Pingback: Race Review – Condura Run for the Dolphins, February 7 « Drum and Run

Leave a Reply

