My First Year of Running – Happy Anniversary!

Today, January 5, I celebrate one year of running. =)

I used to be really big before, and had pretty much a sedentary way of living. I ate a lot, I drank a lot, I partied a lot, and I didn’t move that much except when going to the kitchen to get some food, or when I have to take a bath. Pretty much like this guy.

Photobucket

I started running as my major form of weight loss and as a means to increase my metabolism. After trying out a couple of 5K races, I moved on to doing double distances. In less than 3 months I participated in my first half-marathon at Condura, and I couldn’t stop myself from running long-distance categories (unless I have valid reasons, like that of previous commitments or unavailability of my desired race distance, for example). Much like when you open a can of Pringles, once you pop, you can’t stop. I attest to the same truth when it comes to running.

Photobucket

After nearly 900 kilometers, nearly two and a half dozen singlets, several road races, and countless practice/training runs with the takbo.ph family, I cannot help but admit that…

Photobucket

As a side note, I used to have a “Running Addict” shirt, but it got lost in the sands of time due to… Personal reasons that couldn’t (and I will not bother to) share.

I am a running man, seeking for new adventures, new routes, and new ways to beat my limits.

Photobucket

But no, I do not wish to be like Ahhh-nuld. =P

Here’s to the unflailing triumph of the human spirit. As a fellow running buddy of mine once said, if you can imagine the distance, you can achieve it. Here’s to more runs, more LSDs, more CLPs/LCLPs, and more road races. Indeed, if you run, you can – AND WILL – go the distance.

Photobucket

4 responses

  1. happy anniv! mine is nov 1. wishing you many more annivs to come hehe! keep running =)

    Thanks, Julie! Quite interesting that yours falls on that day. =)

    January 6, 2010 at 10:45 AM

  2. Red

    yo caloy!!! congrats, bro! more running years to come!

    Thanks bro! Alak pa!!! =)

    January 6, 2010 at 10:45 AM

  3. here’s to more distances! cheers!

    And here’s to more runs also, Carrey! =) Thanks for dropping by!

    January 6, 2010 at 1:23 PM

  4. jazzrunner

    Happy 1 year anniversary of running, Carlo! See you more on the road!

    Thank you, Sir Rene! See you soon! =)

    January 7, 2010 at 2:50 PM

Leave a Reply

