Race Review: Earth Run 2010, April 18

Two words to sum up this race: PACER DUTIES. =)

Might I also add – KNEE-HIGH SOCKS! This is my first race to debut in such apparel. Not only does it look good, but it also provides additional compression to my legs. So I can say goodbye to my cramps – hahaha! =P

Since I didn’t have any training prior to this race, I decided to take it slow for the meantime and simply finish it the best way I can. I wasn’t really aiming for any PR whatsoever since I knew from the very start that the race course was going to be hard.

I was originally planning to do a continuous run, around 6:45 to 7:00 mpk. But when Carina, Tere, and Julie tagged along – and upon hearing that Carina left her GF 305 – I volunteered to be their pacer. The game plan? A Galloway strategy with a 5:1 ratio, with a maximum pace of 7:00 mpk. This was going to be a chill run indeed. But as we were progressing along our run, I discovered that we could sustain a 6:30 mpk pace for around 5 minutes, so we decided to upgrade our pace. =)

Being that this was going to be a relaxed run, we decided to take it slow on the uphill paths, like the Kalayaan flyover ascents and the rolling hills at Bayani Road and at Heritage Park. To compensate for this, we would speed our butts off when the downhill path came, to the point that we were running to 5:30 mpk at most. Sometimes I would break the 5:1 ratio especially, when we were in the middle of a descent, until it smoothens out or until we get to an uphill struggle.

During the race, Carina, Tere, and I were focused on Julie. I knew later on that she was gunning for a new Pikermi PR. As such, we stayed by her side all the time and gave her all the motivation (not to mention the rest time) she needed to gun for a sub-2:30 finish. We followed this “blocking”, as Julie would call it, for the most part:

Photobucket

Carina and I were in front, Tere and Julie were behind. (Thanks to Julie for this photo.)

I was happy to know that there were a few others who tagged along with us. Too bad we weren’t able to get a picture of them.

At the last 3K, we can sense that Julie was slowly getting weary and her energy reserves were nearly depleting. But nevertheless, we kept her motivated and focused on reaching her goal – in fact, to make our performance better, we decided to include some fartlek sessions! I was initially fearing that we might not make it to 2:30 because the last 500 meters of the route extended all the way until Serendra, but we somehow managed to speed ourselves. In the end, we finished at 2:27:40, as per the Garmin.

Photobucket

Congrats, Julie, for beating your time. Next target – 2:25! =)

Caren also ran 5K in this race, and she has set a new record of 40 minutes. =) Congratulations, baby! =*

Photobucket

Just a little more and we’ll be able to break the 35 minute barrier. =D

After this run, I have realized that I can actually become a pacer for life, since I have no plans on beating my records anymore. I know there is room for improvement, but I can put those aside for now. I want to help other people beat their records now. Maybe it’s about time that I pay it forward. =)

Here’s the route

Photobucket

And my splits.

Photobucket

2 responses

  1. huwaaat? “realx run” yun for you guys? I was so hingal! hahaha! Just goes to show you who’s the oldest in the group, LOL!

    thank you so much Carlo for being there for me. You cannot imagine how grateful I am. I will always remember this pikermi. The race where I had 3 angels guiding me =)

    Relaxed run kasi we implemented Galloway e =) Think about it.

    You’re welcome, Julie. Before you leave, you should have one more Pikermi dito sa Pinas. =)

    May 8, 2010 at 7:14 AM

  2. hanep sa outfit! 🙂

    Hahaha, thanks Estan =)

    June 17, 2010 at 7:24 AM

Leave a Reply

