Race Review – takbo.ph Runfest, July 25

Better late than never. =)

After being excessively involved in long-distance races, I thought that maybe it was about time for me to do a 5K effort in this race. I’ve checked my records and according to the archives, the last 5K race I joined in dates to last year – and I was assigned to Cebu at that time. This is one of the reasons why Caren and I signed up for the 5K category. It was a perfect chance to break the speed barrier. Come to think of it, after favoring long-distance runs, there may be a chance that I may get a new 5K personal record on this event.

What even prompted me to set a new target time was the fact that I became a volunteer photographer for this race, much like what the personnel at Photovendo do during road races. So in some sense, there was a certain degree of pressure to run the race quickly and arm the camera immediately to take pictures of fellow runners on their way to the finish line.

Unfortunately, Caren wasn’t available during this event even though she had previously signed up. So I ran for the both of us.

I ran the first half of the course with an average of 6:00 mpk (or even faster). Incredibly, my lungs were keeping up. If I kept up with this kind of momentum I will be able to attain a sub-30 finish with a smile on my face!

And true enough, my body played along until I reached the finish line. The GF 305 registered a time of 28:15. NEW 5K PR!!! =D

After doing a bit of stretching I immediately went near the finish line with camera in hand. There I started taking pictures of other runners giving their final push to the finish line. At that point I told myself that it felt great being a volunteer. It feels great to be able to pay everything forward to those who are starting their respective careers in running.

Thus, the spirit of volunteerism will be the subject of my next post.

Congratulations to all those responsible for the organization of the Runfest. I’m hoping that by next year there will be longer distances available.

For those who want to view their Runfest pictures, click on the following public sets on Facebook.
Set 1
Set 2
Set 3
Set 4
Set 5
Set 6
Don’t forget to cite your sources. =)

2 responses

  1. tagal na to ha? just passing through po.. nice blog po.. congrats and keep on running!

    December 26, 2010 at 12:34 AM

    • carlo

      Salamat Bryan! =)

      January 28, 2011 at 9:05 AM

Leave a Reply

